My Fairy Godfather and a couple of steaks…

I grabbed a couple of New York strip steaks on the way home last night and decided I wanted to try them in my new “grill” iron skillet that Daryl got for me last week after I mentioned that I thought it would be great to HAVE a skillet one day. He does things like that. I’ll say, “I could really use a couple of white shirts for work” and lo and behold they show up within the week. He’s like my own personal fairy godfather (place joke here).

So last night I got done work at 6 and Daryl was working until 7 so I thought I’d whip up a nice dinner for us so we could eat when he got home. I got this nice Applewood smoked rub and some gourmet fingerling potatoes from the market and preheated the griddle with a quick spray of canola oil.

While the griddle was heating up, I sliced the fingerlings into quarters and put them in a bowl. Drizzled them in olive oil, then mixed in some chopped up fresh rosemary, fresh cracked pepper (I don’t think you can ever use too much pepper), sea salt, some garlic powder and a hint of paprika. Threw them on a baking sheet and put them into the oven at about 400 degrees.

After I rubbed the steaks liberally (like my political views) with the Applewood rub, I sprinkled on some pepper and sea salt and placed them in the hot skillet. What a great sound and the aroma was amazing! I let the steaks sizzle on each side for a few minutes to get them going then I cut up a Granny Smith apple, leaving the skin on and threw the slices in the pan, moving them around to release the apple juice a bit. I poured in about a ¼ cup of Balsamic vinegar and ¼ cup of red wine and cooked the steaks about another few minutes on each side.

I sautéed some fresh broccoli, threw a loaf of French bread in the oven with the potatoes and pulled the steaks off the stove to rest (and finish searing in the skillet). Garnish with a sprig of Rosemary and a few of the sautéed apple slices and pour the skillet dripping over the steaks.

I poured the remaining two glasses of Bordeaux from the “mondo” bottle that Daryl picked up last week after I stated one day that I’d like to try Bordeaux because I was told it’s less prone to cause “wine headaches.”  The man is surely my fairy Godfather.

Dinner and the company were spectaculicious!

3 Comments

Filed under Life...

3 responses to “My Fairy Godfather and a couple of steaks…

  1. Daryl

    My man can COOK!!!

  2. Cathy

    Even though I don’t eat meat, you made that sound so amazing. What a great writer you are – I could see, hear, smell and taste that dinner. And Daryl is a total keeper- I say, you are both blessed… cook on, blog on…

    • tryined

      THANKS Cathy! Truly appreciate the comments. I just sort of start typing and see where it goes. We HAVE to get together for a glass of wine soon. Have you been to Harvest yet?

Leave a Reply

