I don’t fold.

I got a bonus in my relationship with Daryl.

Pre-Daryl folding

Post-Daryl folding

Actually, I got several bonuses with Daryl, but one that is an amazing addition to our personal organization is his folding prowess. Scoff if you must, but having tees and underwear folded like they’ve just come out of the store package is a true work of art. I wonder if it’s some sort of latent origami-type skill that has worked its way into the back of his head.

He also does the laundry religiously (in other words, he does most of it on Sunday which is his day off). I try, on occasion to do the laundry, but Daryl doesn’t like how I do it. Apparently, pink clothing is NOT attractive and leaving washed clothes in the washer for a few days before drying is not appropriate.

I have also been “grounded” permanently from loading the dishwasher. For some reason, I was absent on the day that “pre-rinsing” and “how-to-stack” classes were given. I HAVE attempted to rectify this once in awhile, but when Daryl sees a chunk of chicken on a plate, or a “wall of bowls” around the sprayer, he gives new meaning to “SMH” (shaking my head-FB vernacular) as he rolls his eyes while re-stacking.

Believe me when I tell you I’m not a TOTAL slacker. I DO clean toilets well and I CAN cook like there’s no tomorrow (somehow having those two chores in the same sentence at the same time is not right). I am truly gifted at grocery and wine shopping (although I’m unsure about using a small plastic basket for food and a shopping cart for wine), I can shake a mean cocktail, create an award-winning (the awards are in my head) garden patio and I’m a pro at making sure the condo looks like it’s lived in by two upwardly mobile (read: second floor), professional homosexuals.

I’m also organized to a fault with bill paying (I pay in advance, Daryl thinks grace period means he has another week) and oil changes for the car, and I’m never late for work (unless you count that report that was generated last year which somehow indicated I was late 43 times by a few minutes each day which if you add up the total means an hour late annually…sheesh).

I believe Daryl and I have a wonderful balance in our 6 year relationship in many ways. It took some work to get to this place of cohabitation. We’re still learning and we’re not perfect by any means, however, he is the YIN to my YANG, the milk to my Oreo, and the Peppah to my Salt.

1 Comment

Filed under Life...

One response to “I don’t fold.

  1. christine

    Aww how sweet.

Leave a Reply

