i (heart) 2 write @ nite.

when day is long

and night is longer

as sleep eludes me so,

i stare faithfully

adoringly,

at keyboard and the glow.

i sit and gaze as though in love

with thoughts and words and such,

i’ll type and curse, then type some more

my fingers with their touch.

caressing, massaging every thought

each thing that comes to mind,

edits spell as though it counts

to care about the rhyme.

i write, I feel, I sing my song

as though the soul it knows,

can I repeat what’s in my heart

to give the gift of prose.

wall clock reminds me

with each tick,

how slumber slips away

but I don’t care

how time moves on,

i’ve talked as me today.

ed.

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “i (heart) 2 write @ nite.

  1. I’m not a poetry person, but I do like this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

