A muse.

Perhaps Daryl is my muse. I don’t think he truly understands what the role entails.

MUSE:
n 1: in ancient Greek mythology any of 9 daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne; protector of an art or science
    2: the source of an artist’s inspiration; “Euterpe was his muse”
    v 1: reflect deeply on a subject; “I mulled over the events of the afternoon”; “philosophers have speculated on the question of God for thousands of years”; “The scientist must stop to observe and start to excogitate” [syn: chew over, think over, meditate, onder, excogitate, contemplate, muse, reflect, mull, mull over, ruminate, speculate]

As a [potential] muse, he IS a man full of comedic timing and clever responses. When we are together in those rare moments that our wildly diverse work schedules allow, there is laughter. Lots of it. He provides me with weeks, months, even years of inspiration for my blog fodder. But is he my muse? Shouldn’t a muse be… what’s the word I’m searching for… deep?

On the occasional rare day that I try to engage him in a multi-faceted, stimulating conversation on the role of the American government in our daily lives, he smiles and asks if I can pick up some “marshmallow circus peanuts” at the supermarket next time I go. In my infinite quest for understanding history or nature, I’ll put one of the educational channels on and Daryl will want to change it to “Survivor” or a “Golden Girls” rerun. Shouldn’t my muse give me reason to “reflect?”

 We’ll be having an in-depth conversation about my sense of personal identity and just when I’ve been lulled into a sense of security and I think he GETS me, I realize that he’s been quoting lines from the TV show Modern Family or Will and Grace. Is this muse material?

As I sit here on the sofa typing about my quandary, I realize that I’ve been watching the cat play with the twist tie on the floor from last night’s vegetable medley bag for 15 minutes. I think perhaps it’s the cat who will be my muse.

9 Comments

Filed under Life...

9 responses to “A muse.

  1. Irene

    I love marshmellow circus peanuts!

  2. Perhaps he keeps you from sinking too deeply into your own thoughts 🙂

  3. Pingback: A muse. – blink

  4. Sheryl McLean

    Daryl is your muse no doubt… A muse… aka amuse. He does that for you – EMBRACE YOUR MUSE! Happy Valentine’s Day to you both!

    • At least you got my feeble play on words Sheryl. We’re far from perfect, but we do seem to connect with each other on many levels. Thanks for the Valentines wish. (Although I work tomorrow night so I’m not really sure if we’re celebrating.) ❤️ PS Hope to see you again soon!

  5. My goodness. I love this post or maybe it’s that because of it I’d love Daryl, too!

Leave a Reply

