they’re playing our song!

Daryl and I need a “song.”

We’ve been together for 6 years and it’s time to get serious about this relationship. How can we do that without “our song?” Most couples have “their song.” You know… the song that they fell in love to. Perhaps the first time they made love, walked hand in hand, had dinner together or perhaps danced drunkenly and obscenely to just before last call at a sleazy bar.

Maybe it’s because our tastes in music are different?

Daryl seems to gravitate towards classics like… oh, I don’t know… the theme to Jeopardy, Wheel of Fortune and The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. He can also air drum like crazy on the opening credits song to General Hospital. He memorizes commercial jingles from insurance price quotes, feminine hygiene products and even knows how to do the potty dance, but these just CAN’T be used as couple songs. The other day I heard him singing a Justin Bieber song “Baby” (She made my heart pound/I skip a beat when I see her in the street/And at school on the playground/But I really wanna see her on a weekend/She know she got me dazin’ ’cause she was so amazin’/And now my heart is breakin’ but I just keep on sayin’). I refuse to make that “our” song.

On the other hand, my musical tastes vary widely from Stravinsky to Sting, Sade to Sinatra and back again. You’ll never hear me hum a track from Miley Cyrus (except what IS it about that “Climb a Mountain” song that gets stuck… make that glued in my head?). Maybe a portion of a movie soundtrack would work. I LOVE the end of the Streisand-Redford classic “The Way We Were,” but I don’t think that’s a perfect choice. We COULD go for the music in “Brokeback Mountain” but I’m not crazy about camping and “doing it” in tents.

I prefer a song to be one that is romantic, yet sensual. Possibly something that makes me weak in the knees, like Daryl at times, and something we could dance to. I’d like a song that when either of us hear it, we’ll instantly think of each other and fall madly in love all over again. Madly… hmmm… maybe I’ll research songs from the soundtrack of “One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest.”

Readers: How about posting us some suggestions?

10 Comments

Filed under Life...

10 responses to “they’re playing our song!

  1. Daryl

    How about “At Last” by Etta James? xoxo

  2. I vote for either “Loving You” by Minnie Riperton or “Poetry Man” by Phoebe Snow.

  3. “Do That To Me One More Time” by the ‘Captain and Tennille
    It’s an oldie, but I think a goodie 🙂

  4. Your closing line made me smile. I’m not much good at love songs, but that’s probably not the first place I’d look! 😉

    Ba.D. and I don’t have a song. Now that I’ve read your entry, I’m going to start compulsively wracking my brain for anything that comes close. I’m sure there’s something we have special memories to . . . ?!

  5. christine donahue

    How about Truly, Madly, Deply by Savage Garden. Yhat one is one of my favorites.

  6. christine donahue

    Another one I really like is “Heaven” by Brian Adams

Leave a Reply

