my twin fantasy.

If I can fantasize about having a twin, I'd imagine we'd look like this.

I read an article on the web this weekend about the twin 92 year old friars who both died of natural causes within hours of each other on the same day. How amazing to have someone who looks like you to share your life with for that long. I’ve sometimes wondered what it would be like to have an identical twin.

My mother was a fraternal twin who looked similar, but certainly not identical to her brother. She loves to share the story of when she and her brother were in junior high, he flunked the seventh grade. Apparently, my mother having missed him in her classes flunked her eighth grade year to be reunited with him again. Sounds a little codependent to me, but then again, I don’t have a twin.

I’ve often fantasized about playing the date trick in high school with my twin, where we would have sex with each other’s dates just because we could. We could play games with our parents and other siblings about who was who. We could try each other’s jobs for the diversity of it or just because we were bored.

I’d hope my twin would have the same warped humor and biting sarcasm that I have and not be an opposite personality type. What a drag to have a twin that actually DID his homework on time and cleaned up his room. I’d have to constantly measure up and follow HIS example.

What if my twin became a Yale educated scholar and was earning a six figure salary while living in a rent controlled apartment on the upper west side? What if my twin was in a relationship with someone like Ricky Martin or Adam Lambert? What if my twin had a fulfilling career as a well known novelist? I’d be in constant comparison. I can BARELY handle the pressure of living up to ME, let alone a twin brother!

After pondering this twin thing a little further, I wonder if I would enjoy watching an image of me grow older. Isn’t it bad enough when I look in the mirror I see my father and I wonder where that 18 year old fresh scrubbed, sparkly eyed guy went? Would we still dress in identical shirts at the age of 54?

Arnold Schwarzenegger was in a movie with Danny DeVito entitled Twins. We know how THAT went.

9 Comments

Filed under Life...

9 responses to “my twin fantasy.

  1. I don’t think that I’d want a twin. It’s bad enough that I look like my uncle Jim. He’s 3 years older than me and people mistake me for him sometimes. Whenever I meet one of his friends for the first time, they stare at me like I’m some kind of freak or something. “The resemblence is amazing”, they say.
    No, I don’t want a twin. No, I don’t want a twin.
    P.S. You could be triplets. Ed, Edd and Eddy

  2. jgavinallan

    Ed:
    This was nice and humorous article.
    But—lol—I don’t need twin.
    We all look alike to you people.lol
    hugs
    Jaye

  3. *wistful sigh* I would just settle for a sibling, period. The dreams of an only child!

    What if your twin was evil? What would you do then???

  4. I used to think about being a twin…but I think if I had a twin I would want to have a twin brother instead of a identical sister. I think I compete with myself enough to have to compete with another girl in my house would have been hell…Love your posts BTW 🙂

    • I heard a phrase the other day that went like this: “Be yourself because everyone else is already taken.” Unfortunately I forget who said it but it rings true, even with twins.

Leave a Reply

